Find your diamond
Find your jewelry
shape
carat
color
clarity

WF ring arrived but the prongs aren't what I expected...

cakeeatingcat

Rough_Rock
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
55
I picked up my custom WF ER today from Fedex, and the size, band, and layout are exactly as I had hoped. However, the prongs are thicker than I expected..

I had asked for six claw prongs, as petite and delicate as possible, but the prongs aren't very "claw" in that they don't have much of a point at the ends. I thought it was the reflection at first but in the photos they look very U-shaped. If I had to be generous, I guess I would say that they are "very chubby claws". I suppose I didn't explicitly say "please make them pointy at the ends" as I assumed that's what a claw prong already meant.

Were my expectations unrealistic? Is this what Whiteflash's claw prongs typically look like? What do you guys think?


whatstyleprongs.png
 

daisygrl

Brilliant_Rock
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
632
OP, I know what you mean as I had the same exact request as you (different vendor). Your prongs are neither claws nor delicate.
When I requested delicate claw prongs (I was very specific about it), I got what I requested and this is what it looks like (see pic below.) I could not be happier.You might need to return the ring to have them fix it. It will bother you more and more later on. IMG_3915.jpg
 
Last edited:

Laila619

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
11,659
Very annoying. I am sorry you are disappointed. Maybe because of the basket style, they figured they had to be slightly thicker for durability? I hope they can fix it for you.
 

cakeeatingcat

Rough_Rock
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
55
Wow, thanks all for the speedy responses and for confirming that it wasn't just my eyes.

I'm disappointed that this detail was overlooked. I'll have to consider if it's worth the headache of the potential shipping/tax/border issues associated with sending it back to WF as I live in Canada. (Anyone Canadians happen to have been in the same boat lol?)

On one hand I feel like I should get what I asked for (which is the whole point of getting something custom made) but on the other hand I can't really see the difference when I look at the ring from afar, only when I look at it closely. My partner has been excited for us to get it as I think he's planning to propose before the year ends, so sending it back would throw a wrench in his plans. :confused2:

I'll probably reach out to WF and see what they say. I would expect that they've encountered a similar problem in the past before...
 

Estrella185

Rough_Rock
Joined
Oct 4, 2020
Messages
90
Wow, thanks all for the speedy responses and for confirming that it wasn't just my eyes.

I'm disappointed that this detail was overlooked. I'll have to consider if it's worth the headache of the potential shipping/tax/border issues associated with sending it back to WF as I live in Canada. (Anyone Canadians happen to have been in the same boat lol?)

On one hand I feel like I should get what I asked for (which is the whole point of getting something custom made) but on the other hand I can't really see the difference when I look at the ring from afar, only when I look at it closely. My partner has been excited for us to get it as I think he's planning to propose before the year ends, so sending it back would throw a wrench in his plans. :confused2:

I'll probably reach out to WF and see what they say. I would expect that they've encountered a similar problem in the past before...

I’m sorry it’s not as you requested... but I would just return it and get what you originally requested. It’s annoying yes but living with a ring that isn’t what you want would be much worse.
 

headlight

Ideal_Rock
Joined
Nov 2, 2003
Messages
2,698
Perhaps you emphasize that the proposal plans have already been made and an expedited revision be provided. Once you get engaged you will not want to have to send it back, everyone will be expecting to see the ring. And you should get it fixed - it shouldn’t just look right from afar... you will be looking at it close up for a long time!
 

sugarcloud

Rough_Rock
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
75
Your ring is gorgeous but I can see why you are frustrated :( I wonder if there is a reason that they maybe could point out the ends more. I love the look of claw prongs but have often wondered if they are more porne to damage or lifting or anything like that? Either way, if you asked for claws then that's what you should have received.
 

diamondsR4eVR

Brilliant_Rock
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
869
Awe OP it’s so disheartening when something you want to love leaves you feeling disappointed and annoyed. I would contact them as mentioned above and explain in an email due to the proposal etc. you would like this fix ASAP. You understand the holidays are upon us but this is not what was requested. Also, see if they can pay for the expenses to send back. Do you have proof that you asked for delicate claw prongs? I would send that too. GL, OP! All in all it’s still a beautiful piece and I hope it comes back and blows you away with its beauty.
 

missy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
43,417
Aww I’m sorry this happened. I’d definitely contact WF. They’ll make it right. Maybe they’ll suggest waiting til after the holiday rush to send it back or perhaps they’ll tell you to send it right away. Either way they’ll make you happy. It’s a beautiful ring. Don’t settle. Get the setting and prongs your heart desires. ❤️
 

mtran89

Rough_Rock
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
62
I’m not sure if they are extremely swamped but we are also currently experiencing issues with the design with them as well.

We were extremely detailed in the description of how we wanted the setting and even sent photos of the same setting they made that they posted on Instagram (It was their WF Knife edge). We had asked them to make the prongs thin and delicate just like the photo.

We received the photos the prongs were nothing like the photo. They were thick, the diamond was mounted on a slant and the prongs tips were also chunky.

We let them know our concern and they redid it, but it’s still not to our satisfaction. Not sure how the second correction will turn out? Still waiting on that.

I would post a photo but my soon to be fiancé doesn’t want me to see the ring yet and wants it to be a surprise... we did choose platinum with ruthenium vs their stand platinum with iridium(which I know is softer). So wondering if plat/ruth is harder to work with because of its hardness. I know Tiffany uses this blend and their prongs are thin and delicate.

I’m just a little worried as he showed my sister in law for a second opinion and they both agreed it wasn’t the “wow” they were looking for and the diamond is a 2.738 ACA.

He contemplated on making an account and posting the ring on here for help and get a second opinion on the design, as he’s not an expert and not confident in what he’s seeing. I’ll just have to avoid opening the thread lol
 
Last edited:

AprilBaby

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
11,566
I would contact them ASAP and see what they recommend. They will make it right for you.
 

lihoo

Rough_Rock
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
8
I understand your frustration fully. The prongs really do not look as most of customers expect...definitely you should contact them ASAP. WF customer service is great so I am sure they will help you. I hope you post your ring again happily once it has been re-set.
 

WillyDiamond

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
1,345
Contact them. Explain the issue. I am sure they will take it back and correct it. They want you to be 100% happy.
 

msop04

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
9,909
Contact WF and explain your concern... ask that they expedite the repairs and send you an overnight label for shipping, then they can send it back to you overnighted... on their dime.
 

bludiva

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Sep 23, 2017
Messages
2,538
those look like default prongs, not claw prongs. they should be able to fix it for you easily.
 

Texas Leaguer

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,337
@cakeeatingcat ,
I am very sorry for your disappointment. From the images it does not look like the prongs on the center stone are as delicate and clawlike as they could be.

I will be discussing this with our production team tomorrow morning. Rest assured that we will do what is necessary to address the problem.

I apologize for your inconvenience in having to make a return. We will give it top priority.
 

cakeeatingcat

Rough_Rock
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
55
Thank you all! I've sent an email to WF. I'll see what they recommend.

Given that we are in Canada, my partner is very reluctant to deal with the hassle that is our cross-border taxes (12% tax!) and the ilk, but I'll ask WF what other cross-border customers have done in the past and discuss with my partner and make a decision. In all honesty, I may respect my partner's wishes given the concessions he's already given me during this entire ER shopping process. I've worn the ring around the home and I think I can get used to the appearance over time - the ACA has such great sparkle that the tips of the prongs are hardly noticeable unless you deliberately look for them up close. (I could also be saying this to make myself feel better lol)

Anyways, I guess future customers should ask to see photos of the finished product before it's sent out, especially those who are not from the states; it would be nice if WF made that part of their practice as @prs said. I received my photos two days after the ring was shipped, and unfortunately I did not have the foresight to ask to see photos before they shipped it.

I’m not sure if they are extremely swamped but we are also currently experiencing issues with the design with them as well.
...

Sorry to hear that @mtran89, though it's oddly comforting to know it's not just me. I hope your issues get resolved soon! Maybe do consider posting to get feedback from these amazingly helpful PSers!

@cakeeatingcat ,
I am very sorry for your disappointment. From the images it does not look like the prongs on the center stone are as delicate and clawlike as they could be.

I will be discussing this with our production team tomorrow morning. Rest assured that we will do what is necessary to address the problem.

I apologize for your inconvenience in having to make a return. We will give it top priority.

Thank you very much for acknowledging my concern. I did notice that the final order description in the email (that was sent once the ring was shipped) neglected to have the claw prongs as a note despite me having mentioned it a few times during the CAD review. I suspect that because the detail was discussed in the email thread but not added to the order, it was overlooked by whoever ultimately shaped - or rather, didn't shape - the prongs. All the interactions I have had with your staff have been stellar otherwise.
 

daisygrl

Brilliant_Rock
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
632
I’m not sure if they are extremely swamped but we are also currently experiencing issues with the design with them as well.

We were extremely detailed in the description of how we wanted the setting and even sent photos of the same setting they made that they posted on Instagram (It was their WF Knife edge). We had asked them to make the prongs thin and delicate just like the photo.

We received the photos the prongs were nothing like the photo. They were thick, the diamond was mounted on a slant and the prongs tips were also chunky.

We let them know our concern and they redid it, but it’s still not to our satisfaction. Not sure how the second correction will turn out? Still waiting on that.

I would post a photo but my soon to be fiancé doesn’t want me to see the ring yet and wants it to be a surprise... we did choose platinum with ruthenium vs their stand platinum with iridium(which I know is softer). So wondering if plat/ruth is harder to work with because of its hardness. I know Tiffany uses this blend and their prongs are thin and delicate.

I’m just a little worried as he showed my sister in law for a second opinion and they both agreed it wasn’t the “wow” they were looking for and the diamond is a 2.738 ACA.

He contemplated on making an account and posting the ring on here for help and get a second opinion on the design, as he’s not an expert and not confident in what he’s seeing. I’ll just have to avoid opening the thread lol

In my opinion, he should show you the ring and discuss the shape of it (whether it is prongs or whatever) just to make 100% you are happy with it. Then, he can take it back and give it to you when he intends to propose. But these kind of things are way too expensive to settle on or to surprise with. They need a collaborative approach. I designed my ring and picked my diamond (CBI) because with the money we were spending, there is no way I would leave all this just up to my husband. He was (and still is) way too confused about any of these things. He loves to look at the ring, though.
 

XHellfireX

Rough_Rock
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
23
Given that we are in Canada, my partner is very reluctant to deal with the hassle that is our cross-border taxes (12% tax!) and the ilk, but I'll ask WF what other cross-border customers have done in the past and discuss with my partner and make a decision.

I'm also in Canada, and while it is a hassle sending it back to get fixed, as you already paid the taxes on the ring coming in, you will be sending it back for a "warranty repair. So just ensure all the paperwork reflects that going back to them. When they send it back all the paperwork should reflect return of warranty item. iirc they use FedEx which does not try and rip off like UPS so you should not get double hit as long as the paperwork is filled out correctly. Good luck with the fix!
 

CareBear

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jan 28, 2005
Messages
1,372
WF might not make it perfect the first time around but they will keep trying until the customer is happy. I think it took 3 or 4 adjustments for my diamonds by the yard necklace, as I was very particular about the spacing. But in the end they got it exactly how I wanted it. So definitely don't hesitate to let them know if you aren't satisfied with the product.
 

cakeeatingcat

Rough_Rock
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
55
I'm also in Canada, and while it is a hassle sending it back to get fixed, as you already paid the taxes on the ring coming in, you will be sending it back for a "warranty repair. So just ensure all the paperwork reflects that going back to them. When they send it back all the paperwork should reflect return of warranty item. iirc they use FedEx which does not try and rip off like UPS so you should not get double hit as long as the paperwork is filled out correctly. Good luck with the fix!

Thank you! It's nice to be reassured by another Canadian. I read your comment to my partner and he seems more amenable to sending it back to be fixed. Hopefully the paperwork will not be tedious and that WF will have experience with the necessary paperwork. Luckily I am on vacation this week so I can devote some time to this.

Hopefully no one minds that I'll try to continue to update in this thread so that other Canadians can see what the process is (if they stumble upon this in a future search).
 

Texas Leaguer

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,337
[QUOTE="cakeeatingcat, post: 4865992, member: 118253"
Thank you very much for acknowledging my concern. I did notice that the final order description in the email (that was sent once the ring was shipped) neglected to have the claw prongs as a note despite me having mentioned it a few times during the CAD review. I suspect that because the detail was discussed in the email thread but not added to the order, it was overlooked by whoever ultimately shaped - or rather, didn't shape - the prongs. All the interactions I have had with your staff have been stellar otherwise.
[/QUOTE]

Hello @cakeeatingcat ,
I have now had a chance to investigate and your speculation above is correct. You did indicate during the design process that you wanted claw prongs. That info was not specified on the work order, as it should have been. Therefore, despite having a multi-stage QC process, the error was not caught on our end. My sincere apologies for our oversight.

We will be sending you an insured post-paid fedex label with instructions on how to send the ring back to us. It usually takes approximately 2 days transit each way. We will give it priority in the shop so as not to add to the delay. You should not have any additional duties or taxes to worry about. Those issues will be dealt with on our side.

Regarding the sending of photos prior to shipment, this is our default process. However, the photos usually precede the shipment by only a few hours at most as the photo step is the last before the shipping step. In some cases when our photography department gets backed up, is short staffed, or over a holiday, photos are delayed and not sent until sometime after shipping. Unless a customer specifically requests photos for approval prior to shipment, and are comfortable with a possible shipping delay as a result, we err on the side of getting the order out to the customer on the day it is scheduled to ship.

Again, I apologize for your disappointment and inconvenience. This is an easy refinement to make to you ring and it is our desire to get it just they way you want it, and as promptly as possible.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.
 
Be a part of the community It's free, join today!
    Get the Look: Moira Rose
    Get the Look: Moira Rose
    Spic n' Span Sparkle - How to Clean and Protect your Jewelry
    Spic n' Span Sparkle - How to Clean and Protect your Jewelry
    January Birthstone 2021: Red Garnet
    January Birthstone 2021: Red Garnet

Need Something Special?

Get a quote from multiple trusted and vetted jewelers.

Holloway Cut Advisor



Diamond Eye Candy

Click to view full-size image.
Top