shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie Here: Need Help - $1000 Budget Engagement Ring

matt235

Rough_Rock
Hey all,

Great forum, just joined. I'm a complete newbie in the diamond/jewelry world. I spent some time today reading over the information here to start educating myself.

I'm looking to purchase an engagement ring for my girlfriend, but our budget is tight. I'd like to find something under $1,000 but would be comfortable with spending that amount.

I just don't really know where to begin looking! What's going to be my best bet on our low budget? I'm assuming I can find a much better bargain online than I could locally in a retail store. Either way, I'm hoping you guys can give me some direction here.

We were on ebay last night just looking at different styles and this is one she really liked -

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-02-CT-ROUND-CUT-NATURAL-DIAMOND-HALO-ENGAGEMENT-RING-14K-WHITE-GOLD-/181357841037?pt=Diamond_Solitaire_Rings&hash=item2a39c50a8d

What I know about what she's likes -
1) white gold
2) round diamond
3) she's likes the halo style

All advice is appreciated!!!

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock
Hi Matt, welcome! You have a few options with your budget -- which is the same as my husband's budget was when we got engaged :))

1) if you can find a second hand ring from a reputable source, you will get the most bang for your buck. I do not recommend you buy on ebay and a noob. But there are a few places where you can look safely with some guidance from people here on PS, if you are interested in that route.

2) If you want new, then I think a solitaire with about a .30ct diamond is in your budget. The halo styles you like tend to be pricey :blackeye: Are you okay, or your GF okay, with the idea of buying a solitaire now and putting most money into the diamond, then getting a new halo setting for a later anniversary?