shape
carat
color
clarity

Help for a total newbie.. new to engagement rings/gemstones!

Sabrushi

Rough_Rock
Hello everybody! I've been reading you all since my partner and I have decided to take the next step, and become engaged!
The twist in my story, is that although Ed (my partner) has a pretty good idea about engagement rings (he is Irish!), I am from Argentina.. and we don't do engagement rings at all! Some couples might wear 'pre-wedding rings', which are just plain silver bands (both of them), than once married, get exchanged by the typical yellow gold wedding band (as it's our tradition). So you can imagine my face when he started talking about diamonds... I was lost! :(
After much reading in the subject matter, learning about the 4 C's, going to jewelry stores in my area, talking with some friends, etc, I've decided that I don't want a diamond as the center stone.. I want a blue sapphire. And that's how I've found about this forum! I've devoured your newbie guide, and read all the recommended stories! (Airplay's and Jame's were great learning sources!!)