shape
carat
color
clarity

What''s in your area jewelry store?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

jszweda

Shiny_Rock
Hi all..

I am a newbie to the forum, but not to gemstones persay. I have always had an interest in these things; especially colored stuff.
1.gif

I am sure I am not the only one who watches some of these jewelry shows on satellite or cable, and I am sure I am not the only one who says they don''t have this my way. So I am curious as to what your local stores sell aside from diamonds and lab stuff. Do they have anything unusual or exotic? Is it good or garbage?

Also, is it just my way or is it anywhere you go that people work in these places and are clueless about things? For instance, you look at a piece and you tell someone you want to see the "channel sets" and the person blanks out on you? When you ask if they have a certain color sapphire, do they know what you''re talking about or do they know and they just can''t get it?

I live outside of Charlotte, NC. There are some really good jewelry stores, and then there are your more average places. I found one here that is really really awesome that has some nice stuff. You go to some of these other places and ask for a canary yellow sapphire; they think you''re insane and for some reason they can''t get it.

I wonder if there is simply no market for some of the more exotic stuff here locally, or what. So I figured I would ask what part of the world everyone is from and get a feel for things. I don''t see any good opals here usually, no tourmalines at all, no multi-colored sapphires, no natural rubies for the most part or anything of size, no tsavorite garnets, little if any amethyst, etc. There is a Tiffany & Co. here, and other than diamonds, forget it.