shape
carat
color
clarity

synthetic alexandrite - Need help finding them.

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

dopyoman

Rough_Rock
Well basically I''ve decided I want to get my girlfriend a synthetic alexandrite engagement ring. Trouble is that I have very little knowledge when it comes to gemstones and even less when it comes to man made stones. I don''t know whats fair market price or even which stones are good. When it comes to synthetic stones its very much like some sort of black art where each seller shrouds their product in mystery giving you very little information (I''m referring to end jewelers who sell the final products)

So far after extensive research I''ve come to understand that what I''m looking for is a synthetic (not stimulant or imitation) alexandrite and I''ve come across several sites that sell synthetic alexandrite.

I think these sites sell loose stone and seem legit

http://www.morioncompany.com/PulledMinerals.htm
http://www.geolite.com/alexan.htm
http://www.atggems.com/Alexandrite.htm

But then when I go to I check out sites that sell alexandrite rings many of them quote lower prices then the stones from the above sites while they claim to be lab made.

http://www.goantiques.com/detail,synthetic-alexandrite-ring,1274829.html - 5ct $165
http://www.jewelsforme.com/item-main.asp?ItemNumber=2014R-14&Gemtype=CA&Metal=W&ItemMonth=&Ad=&CU= 1.1ct @ 395

I need some guidance. What the avg. going rate for man made alexandrite per ct? A ball park figure I can compare against. Also maybe someone has purchased synthetic stones before and can share their experience. Also would it be a good idea for me to go to a regular jeweler and ask them about synthetic alexandrite or is that something professional jewelers don''t deal with?

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium