shape
carat
color
clarity

Princess vs. Radiant - Any Thoughts??

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

diamond_noob

Rough_Rock
Hey everyone!

I am a first-time diamond newbie getting engaged in 6 weeks or so, and am getting hung up on the Princess vs. Radiant square shape. I've looked at some in stores, but most B&M stores don't have enough inventory in my preferred specs (1.5-1.75, Nice cut, VS1-SI1, H-I color) to make a good "apples-to-apples" comparison.

Can anyone provide some thoughts on going Princess vs. Radiant, especially as it relates to "sparkle?" My girlfriend is pretty trendy so I like the square cuts over round, but at the same time I would like to maximize sparkle. With the right setting, I would think the pointed vs rounded corners would almost be irrelevant.

Other thoughts or perspectives?

Thanks so much!!
- A Diamond Newbie from Kansas

***** UPDATE *****

Gosh... what a great forum.. thanks for the quick replies, and the references to the old threads and external sites. Just to sum up what's been said so far...

PRINCESS:
* The princess cut almost always has sharp corners
* The princess has a more linear, "crisp" look with a flatter top/crown (could be a pro or con depending on your preference)

Pro: The sharp corners allow princess cuts to be set side by side making them uniquely suitable for use in channel set jewelry
Con: A princess cut must be mounted very carefully since the sharp corners can easily chip.

RADIANT:
* The radiant cut almost always has cut corners
* The radiant tends to have a more "random" look with no visible "center"
* The radiant tends to look like crushed ice or shattered glass
Con: May tend to exagerate body color

JUBILEE:
Pro - A square look with the "sparkle" of a round
Con - Looks like I would have to pay a premium for this cut
sad.gif

If you have any other thoughts to add, please do so!! This is exactly what I needed!

ep6585

Brilliant_Rock