shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie has a question, first of many..

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

bebe

Ideal_Rock
I''m sure this question has been asked before, but..

I''m a total newbie regarding colored gemstones. But at some point in the future I''d like to put together a ring
with a yellow or pink center. I think I want an asscher cut, square EC or a square cushion.

So, what gemstone gives off the most scintilation ?

I''m not expecting fire like a diamond. I have a lot to learn, I admit.
I''ve been looking through the sites, just looking and seeing what catches my eye.
Any guidance will be welcome.

oldmancoyote

Brilliant_Rock
There are yellow and pink diamonds, so why limit yourself? They won''t have fire like a colorless stone, but still very bright and sparkly... and yellows can be quite affordable (relatively speaking).

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Chrysoberyl is a lovely gemstone with great brilliance and fairly attractively priced. It comes in a range of yellows from acid through to honey and is very pretty.

Sphene (usually green) does come in a honey and deep yellow/orange colour also. It has fire like a diamond (very difficult to capture in a photo but you typically see red, blue, green, purple fire etc!

Citrine is a reasonably inexpensive gemstone and some of the cutters you'll see mentioned on this forum have some lovely examples on their websites.

The obvious yellow to suggest is a yellow sapphire - a good one will sparkle! Depending on whether you're looking for a natural or treated stone will depend on whether you pay top $ or find one fairly inexpensively.