shape
carat
color
clarity

How much would you buy this natural ruby 2.9ct for?

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
Hi guys, I am hoping to buy this ruby for under 2000USD. I am very new to gemstone collection, I'd love it if people with trained eyes can help me to understand a reasonable price I should pay for it that will allow it to at least hold the value over time- I want to buy it for the minimal amount i can re-sell it for as a private individual, not a professional. 10.36x8.52x3.49 mm. (very shallow!) 2.95ct. This stone is heated with no other treatment. No more info is given other than that this comes from a reputable store. What do you think? Is it worthy? See the video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1C7SqY4MTBSWyA4oSUoZ20MKR_pmtqZAM/view?usp=share_link Screenshot 2024-01-04 at 8.40.09 PM.png

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It's horribly dark and I doubt you'd be able to resell it. Gems don't resell for what you purchased for. You can expect to resell for 60-70% of what you paid

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
is this worth getting certified?

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
It's horribly dark and I doubt you'd be able to resell it. Gems don't resell for what you purchased for. You can expect to resell for 60-70% of what you paid

what do you think would be the private resell price, regardless what i'll pay for it?

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
I honestly don't think most people would buy it, period. It's too dark, not attractive, not well cut, and there's no lab report so there's no way to know if it was actually treated or not.

thanks, i am so new to this. i picked this out from James allen, which is only through the 3D video i shared above- not much to go with...Hard to know how the color would turn out. Do you know where i can find a good video example of how this color would look in real life?

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium