shape
carat
color
clarity

Doubts about sapphire i received. What should I do?

MyPrachaz

Rough_Rock
Im a Gem newbie and just picked up my first saphire purchase from doorman. but under soft white LED light, the color is rather disappointing. I've also noticed rather visible and unhidable inclusions.

Pic 1 shows what the color is to naked eye.
Pic 2 shows inclusion.

Worth noting, picture on AGL cert agrees with vendor pic, not mine! I will inspect again tomorrow first thing when sun comes up.

what do you all think? is this normal?

Vendor link:
https://www.mastercutgems.com/Produ...nheated_Fine_Blue_Sapphire_3_80_carat-Gem.php

Screenshot_20190314-221733-01.jpeg
20190314231800-01.jpeg

tigertales

Shiny_Rock
I wish I had better news for ya, but this is not a good sapphire. The color is dull, and inclusions like that are completely avoidable even in modestly priced stones. The cut is way too deep, and you're paying for gem weight you're not even seeing...the 'spread' could be so much better/bigger without that deep belly.

Return this, and try again with another vendor. Others here could direct you to reputable dealers.

Good luck!

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I wish I had better news for ya, but this is not a good sapphire. The color is dull, and inclusions like that are completely avoidable even in modestly priced stones. The cut is way too deep, and you're paying for gem weight you're not even seeing...the 'spread' could be so much better/bigger without that deep belly.

Return this, and try again with another vendor. Others here could direct you to reputable dealers.

Good luck!
Mastercut is extremely reputable, just FYI. I'm really surprised to see this pic. Maybe look in daylight? The AGL certification makes the stone look gorgeous, although it's certainly really deep.

I'm really sorry you aren't happy with it! Mastercut is great, so if you aren't happy then definitely return it!

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium