shape
carat
color
clarity

Can an IF stone have more flaws than a VS?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Dilbert

Rough_Rock
I am not too sure how claity is graded. Assuming there is a fixed 10x - 20x magnification to view the stone under. Is it possible for an IF stone to have more numerous flaws at 100x or 1000x magnification than a VS stone with just one relatively larger flaw that gave it the VS grade?

squarediamondlove

Shiny_Rock
I am not an expert on this so I am not sure if this actually happens, but theoretically I think that sounds correct to me. I think FL only means that it is FL under 10X so under a different magnification, the flaws may be visible. There may be a sitation where there are 2 diamonds, one that is of VS clarity and consits of only one "inclusion" and the other is graded as FL but has multiple but extremely small inclusions that do not appear until one magnifies to say 100X.

I know for example an Si1 stone can have visible inclusions and another Si1 stone may not have visible inclusions (without magnification), yet they are both graded as Si1. The difference is that one may have smaller but neumerouse inclusions, while another has a few but larger inclusions that are more visible. I''m not sure what the criteria is for grading, but I guess one can say that stones in a given clarity grade are not created equal. I know my fiance looked at VVS1 stones where he was able to detect inclusions with a loop, but could not detect inclusions with my VVS2 stone, even though it is of lower clarity grade.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium