shape
carat
color
clarity

Being a lawyer and a mother

MissStepcut

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Continuing from the 24 hour thread, I am looking for advice, warnings, stories and anecdotes about being a lawyer and a mom at the same time.

My story: I'm a second year student, due halfway through 3L. I'll be pregnant during my summer associate gig (at a large-to-midsize firm 1.5 hours away from NY by Acela). The father will be starting at a mega firm in NY in September. I also have a FMIL who works part time right now, is very excited, and already agreed to spend 3-4 days a week with me, helping with the baby. She and I get along quite well, though I know the baby may change that, right now, no underlying problems. We also have an ample childcare budget.

But, I am not just looking for advice narrowly about my situation! I would love to hear about women who have successfully managed the firm + baby thing, ones who downshifted, really anything that can help me understand what all we're up against :)

NovemberBride

Brilliant_Rock
Miss Stepcut,

First off - congratulations! I am a lawyer and a mother of one (soon to be two)! I did not have my first child until I went in house after my fifth year of practice at two mega firms (one in NYC, on in Philly). Even as an in-house lawyer, it is very hard to do both. My hours are much better than at a firm (I work 9:30-6:30 on average), but since my 2 year old goes to bed at 8:30, I still don't get much time with her during the week. I also do transactional work, so if I have a deal closing I might work till midnight for a week. But, I love being a mom and I love being a lawyer, so I wouldn't trade it for the world.