shape
carat
color
clarity

All hail Gene! Mahenge Spinel and other bits n’ bobs

Rainbird

Rough_Rock
Hi all! :wavey: Well, it’s only taken me a year or two to get my act together to post! I’ve been collecting for quite a few years now and although I’ve learned a lot along the way, this forum has been great to further my education, besides getting to drool over everyone’s beautiful gems and jewelry. :lickout: It’s good to know there are people out there in the world who are as nutty about gems as I am. None of my friends or family is interested and I hate to see their eyes glaze over if I forget myself and start talking about treatments or some such thing. However, my cats will listen to me for hours! :lol:

Anyway, Gene is such a talented cutter and all round nice guy - you just have to admire he and his wife’s work for his 'Sound for the Hounds' charity - that I thought it was time I came out of lurkdom to share my latest of his that I’m lucky to own.

First up is this 3.09 ct Mahenge spinel mined in 2009. Graded by Gene: Color 10/10, Clarity 9/10, Brilliance 5/5. My point and shoot photos will never do this beauty justice, but in real life I’m seeing more red with pink tones. The color holds in all lights, no extinction whatsoever, great clarity and amazing brilliance. It’s like a stop light. Unfortunately, the setting experience was quite stressful and has put me off wearing it. So, I’ve decided to reset it. I’m having a bit of trouble deciding what to do, so any suggestions are welcomed.

I'm not sure how uploading the photos is going to work as it's my first time, so I may just try a few to start with. Fingers crossed!

This is the rough it was cut from.
gf3_0.jpg

gf3.jpg

Next up is a 1.46 ct Merelani Mint Garnet in 18k yellow gold. I’m not normally into bezels, but this one looks a bit like a flower in the way it has been done, which is what attracted me to it.

gfmgarnet5.jpg gfmintgarnet3.jpg