shape
carat
color
clarity

Yes to this spess?

NKOTB

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hi all. I am trying to decide whether or not to keep this spessartite garnet. Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated. I am not sure it "glows" enough for my liking, or if I am being picky/unrealistic for my budget. This is the first orange one I've ever seen in person so don't necessarily know what to expect.

2011_08_26 097.jpg

2011_08_26 102.jpg

2011_08_26 095.jpg

NKOTB

Ideal_Rock
Premium
one more pic...

2011_08_26 110.jpg

athenaworth

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I think it's gorgeous, but I'm no pro.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
NKOTB|1314742004|3005745 said:
Hi all. I am trying to decide whether or not to keep this spessartite garnet. Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated. I am not sure it "glows" enough for my liking, or if I am being picky/unrealistic for my budget. This is the first orange one I've ever seen in person so don't necessarily know what to expect.

It is very very clean, which is rare for spessartites, well cut, I don't see a lot of brown (if your photos are accurate).

I guess it depends on what you paid for it, and what the carat weight is. If it was inexpensive, I would keep it in a heartbeat. It's difficult to give you a proper decision if no one knows the size, or if you paid a fair price. I know we have to be more picky when the price point is significant.

NKOTB

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Sorry, should have included that info. It's 1.82 ct, paid 218. I don't see brown IRL. If anything, the slightest touch of yellow, but it's pretty straight-up orange.

athenaworth

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I know I already added my $.02, but it's one of the prettiest pears I've ever seen.

ForteKitty

Ideal_Rock
keep it!

Aoife

Brilliant_Rock
NKOTB|1314742004|3005745 said:

This is the only part that matters. Here's something to think about: every time I've talked myself into liking a stone, I've come to regret it. Make sure you love it.

baby nurse

Ideal_Rock
Premium