shape
carat
color
clarity

Where to buy?

cjbills

Rough_Rock
Hello Everyone!

I am an absolute novice in this game, but I have been doing my fair share of lurking around over the past few weeks. I'm planning to propose this summer and was hoping to do so while traveling Europe.

Now on to my question... I am an American, residing in Malaysia, that will be moving back to the States after this summer's travels - apologies about the complicated situation. I am really impressed with the James Allen system and had planned to purchase from them, however, they do not ship to Malaysia - and I am not sure I would really trust customs here even if they did.

Now, taxes and VAT could also heavily influence my purchase capabilities as well.

I am planning to spend ~$10,000 for a princess cut solitaire set up - at the end of the day, I want to get the best performing diamond I can for that amount of money. From a tax/value perspective, would you guys suggest I wait until I am in the States to order from James Allen and just propose there? Hop over to Antwerp while on my trip and try that out? Order from James Allen to a European country at one of the hotels I am staying at?

I really appreciate any advice in advance!

Snowdrop13

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Unless you are in a real rush to propose it would surely make more sense to wait until you get back to the US? Just make sure you factor in enough time to set the stone you choose, if that's what you plan.

flyingpig

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I highly recommend that you wait until you return to the US.

1. I simply cannot comprehend how this will work. If you decide to ship the ring to an European country, you pay any applicable duty and local sales tax, which I believe is significantly higher than in the US. Upon entering US, you still may have to declare the ring with proper paper work. You may or may not be required to pay additional tax/duty. Not worth it.