shape
carat
color
clarity

What to expect creating a custom setting

JB4_CO_BUCK

Rough_Rock
Hello all!

I'm new to the forum and just wanted to get some advice on price/quality when designing and paying for a custom setting.

I have done a ton of research and know what diamond to go with, but I have no data or personal experiences to go on when it comes to the setting.

The reason I want a custom design is because I found a setting she loves (pave halo with half bezel set diamonds on the shoulder) but want to change it so the shoulder is slightly different and to make it so the matching band will be a simple circle and will rest flush against the ring instead of having to bend around the head.

I went to the shop, John atencio, and asked about customizing and was treated horribly. I have a friend of a friend whose family owns and operates a really nice store in PA that could help me though. The original setting runs about 3k at atencio, but I will be using smaller diamonds and most likely a smaller slightly smaller halo. I would post a picture of the original, but atencio doesn't have it on there website.

How much of a premium am I going see in something like this?

Christina...

Ideal_Rock
Are you considering CAD or hand forged? I found a couple of threads that may be helpful for you..

[URL='https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/how-to-a-full-custom-ring-process.86722/']https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/how-to-a-full-custom-ring-process.86722/[/URL]

[URL='https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/custom-jewelry-work-cad-and-cast-psa.175834/#post-3202426#p3202426']https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/custom-jewelry-work-cad-and-cast-psa.175834/#post-3202426#p3202426[/URL]