shape
carat
color
clarity

What should I be looking for?

liaerfbv

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
I stay over in RockyTalk with the diamonds so consider me a complete novice to colored stones. I'm in the process of changing up my e-ring and I'd like to find a colored stone to put in my existing setting for a few months. I am trying to determine what stones I should be looking at that are durable enough for daily wear. The stone would need to be 8-8.2mm round and able to be bezel set.

I'm fairly open on color, but I do not like pastels or anything orange/brown. Ideally I'd like to keep the budget around $500, but I have no idea how realistic that is. I'm going through the "New to Colored Stones" sticky threads and absorbing information. What stones should I focus on? Is my budget crazy?

Thanks!

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock
Here's a good thread for starting:
[URL='https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/new-to-coloured-gemstone-buying-read-this-first.174284/']https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/new-to-coloured-gemstone-buying-read-this-first.174284/[/URL]

Here's a vendor webpage that has a variety of stones that you can look at for prices. There are other vendors I like, but this one has a nice format and lots of different kinds of stones.
www.gemfix.com

You can look here for the differences in hardness between colored stones. For everyday wear, I recommend sticking with Mohs hardness of 8 and up (spinel, chrysoberyl, corundum, diamond), although jadeite is also very durable. For occasional wear, garnet and tourmalines are great. There are also other species I am not mentioning that are very beautiful and can be worn carefully.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mohs_scale_of_mineral_hardness

dk168

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
OP,

I am not certain if bezel-setting can be recycled as the removal of the stone(s) will cause too much damage.

I had to scrap mine when I had my EC diamond re-set recently.

DK :))

MollyMalone

Ideal_Rock
Premium