Find your diamond
Find your jewelry
shape
carat
color
clarity

What setting do I have

Kanga

Rough_Rock
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
19
Hi again,
I posted a question yesterday asking if I could put a larger diamond in an already existing tension setting. However, after some more research, I'm wondering if my e-ring is actually a trellis setting. My husband purposed 12 years ago and we were young and dumb regarding diamonds and settings. I remember hearing it was a tension setting, but now I'm confused. Can someone please look at my photo and provide your opinion? If it is a trellis, can I still put a larger diamond in. There was a .63 princess in the setting and I was hoping to get to .9.
Thank you!!!

_2712.jpeg
 

Tourmaline

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Joined
Nov 17, 2013
Messages
1,795
You can't put a bigger diamond in that setting. You'll need a new setting.
 

VRBeauty

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
10,228
That's not a tension setting. But I agree with Tourmaline: it's not going to accommodate a larger stone either.
 

Kanga

Rough_Rock
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
19
Got it. Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my question. Another "dumb" question. All measurements the same, is there a visual difference between a .63 and .70 princess cut?

Thank you!
 

Rhea

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
6,249
It depends. Carat is weight. Like people, some diamonds will carry their weight differently than others. A 0.63 could be wide and shallow or it could be deep and tall. For questions like that it helps to look at the mm size of the diamonds you're comparing rather than their weight.
 

Kanga

Rough_Rock
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
19
Rhea|1459440983|4013736 said:
It depends. Carat is weight. Like people, some diamonds will carry their weight differently than others. A 0.63 could be wide and shallow or it could be deep and tall. For questions like that it helps to look at the mm size of the diamonds you're comparing rather than their weight.

Got it. Thank you so much!!!
 

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
55,630
If you want a new stone to fit that setting, you need to know the exact dimensions of the stone that is in it now and match that.
 

VRBeauty

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
10,228
Rhea|1459440983|4013736 said:
It depends. Carat is weight. Like people, some diamonds will carry their weight differently than others. A 0.63 could be wide and shallow or it could be deep and tall. For questions like that it helps to look at the mm size of the diamonds you're comparing rather than their weight.
True, but there's not much tolerance in any part of that head. Unless most of the increased size is in the crown, it's not likely that setting would be able to accommodate a stone that's 30% or so larger.

Still, if you already have the new diamond, it would be worth asking your jeweler.
 
Be a part of the community It's free, join today!
    Three-stone engagement ring upgrade
    Three-stone engagement ring upgrade
    Vintage OEC Bracelet
    Vintage OEC Bracelet
    June’s Birthstone Trinity
    June’s Birthstone Trinity

Need Something Special?

Get a quote from multiple trusted and vetted jewelers.

Holloway Cut Advisor



Diamond Eye Candy

Click to view full-size image.
Top