shape
carat
color
clarity

What do you think about this Sphene?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

lovewhitediamonds

Brilliant_Rock
I have been somewhat smitten by the Sphene''s -- saw one in person this week -- and what sparkle! I loved it and now have begun a search. But just as I found my upgrade stone kind of quickly, have a found a nice Sphene too? I know it''s tough to judge without viewing it in person... but any thoughts?

Experts I need your help....here it is.. please let me know your opinions... Thanks!

Sphene

sphenepic.jpg

beaujolais

Ideal_Rock
2.gif
Oh, a sphene, how fun.

I'm not an expert but from what I've learned, a round brilliant will give more dispersion (colors) than the other cuts and this is what a sphene is all about. Also, a darker sphene may tend to give off more red, while lighter color sphenes give off more yellow and green and less red.

They are interesting and what you might call an acquired taste. I think many are not that pretty to look at, at first, (say, compared to a pretty blue sapphire) but how some of the perform !
31.gif

I've bought from them. It was a Very well cut stone, BUT, you may find the stone significantly darker (and also more dark green/olive) in person than it is in the photo. I'd also e-mail them and ask if they photoshop (alter) their photos on their site in any way
2.gif

lovewhitediamonds

Brilliant_Rock
Date: 7/16/2008 9:25:34 PM
Author: sonomacounty
Oh, a sphene, how fun.

I''m not an expert but from what I''ve learned, a round brilliant will give more dispersion (colors) than the other cuts and this is what a sphene is all about. Also, a darker sphene may tend to give off more red, while lighter color sphenes give off more yellow and green and less red.