shape
carat
color
clarity

VC vs MH for halo oval resetting

robinsparkles

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone. My husband and I are resetting my 1ct E VVS2 oval diamond into a halo with a cathedral. Based on reading through as many PS threads as possible, we've narrowed down our options to Victor Canera and Maytal Hannah and have received a quote from both, which are more-or-less the same.

I've read overwhelmingly positive reviews about Victor Canera (including this helpful recent thread: https://www.pricescope.com/communit...g-designer-hannah-vs-kirsch-vs-canera.270595/), and have also read positive reviews of Maytal. However, the sales rep at VC, Nathan, said he couldn't guarantee that they'd match the melee with my color of my stone, but "would be very close in color" and that they "can try to choose higher colored melee." Maytal said she would match it.

My question is: how important is matching melee, and also, is the response from the sales rep consistent with most jewelers (I'm new to all of this so wanted to check)? It sounds like Victor is just amazing and wouldn't produce a sub-par ring, but I'm feeling a little nervous moving forward. I'm very interested in Maytal, but it's hard to ignore such rave reviews about Victor!

Thanks in advance!

ecf8503

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Melee stones are very small, and thus have much smaller facets as well. Usually melee looks very bright white - whiter than the comparable grade stated, and whiter than your center stone. You could for example use G colored melee w your E stone and I bet you couldn't tell the difference. I wouldn't worry, especially w VC - it will look great.

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I dont think it's anything to worry about. Melee almost always appear whiter because they are so small you can not detect their color.
So, you may not get "E" with VC but you wont see a color difference with your stone and the pave. MH does beautiful work also...
it would be a tough decision for me too!

nala

Ideal_Rock
Premium