clarity

(Urgent) Asscher vs Emerald

SidAeron

Rough_Rock
I am trying to decide between the two diamonds
Emerald 2.01 I VVS2
Asscher 2.5 I VS1
Both are around 18k
These are the ASET images, can someone help if they are good? Or should i keep looking? asscher.jpg emerald.jpg

0515vision

Brilliant_Rock
Doyon have videos? I'm a newbie and not an expert in step cuts at all ... but that asscher ASET has way more color than that emerald. That EC seems rather dead in the center. But again - I would defer to both a video and an expert. Good luck!

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
We would need to see pics/videos to be helpful

SidAeron

Rough_Rock
Tagging some experts, but everyone's opinions are welcome :)

@Karl_K
@Jimmianne
@kenny
@OoohShiny

Table: 65%
Depth: 67.7%

Last edited:

Karl_K

Super_Ideal_Rock
Trade
Apples and oranges.
Once you decide which shape you want to target we can help.
We can not help with deciding about the shape.

SidAeron

Rough_Rock
I am flexible about the shape, i need some informed opinion on these diamonds' light reflection/cut, windmills etc. Once i find the right diamond, i will snag it irrespective of the shape.

i could make two separate posts about them, if that's the etiquette of this forum :)

(and now i am realizing my forum header is a bit misleading, i should've named it asscher 'and' emerald instead of 'vs')

Karl_K

Super_Ideal_Rock
Trade
Asscher: aset has some tilt but looks good, not a huge fan of the low crown height and seems a bit lifeless in the video.

EC, ASET is useless because its so badly taken.
Video is inconclusive.

The asscher is not bad but there is better.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I'm not good at picking asschers.
I'm just very good at buying them.
Why?
In a word, @Karl_K :dance:

Honestly Karl knows infinitely more than I about how to recognize a well-cut asscher or emerald cut.
Please DO listen to him!

If you can find one of the Octavia Asschers that he designed, grab it.