carat
color
clarity

Two Great Pieces from JKT - Amethyst Ring and Matching Necklace

cushionladyESQ

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Hey PS!

I have been away for a while finishing law school and moving back to California from New York. Now, I''m back and ready to start studying for the bar. But I wanted to make sure to give a review and pictures of my new JKT pieces.

I have been working with JKT for about five months (I had to wait for her to finish some projects before we started on my ring). For Christmas, my fiance got me a lovely 3.5 carat lavender amethyst from Elaine Songer. I knew when I got it that I wanted a large JKT RHR. I sent the stone to her a while ago and posted a thread on the ring with the sketch, which can be seen here.

I went with the flowery design, and I am very happy with the choice.

Before I post a bunch of pictures, I wanted to provide my perspective on working with JKT. She is amazing to work with and very professional. Early in the process, Julia accidentally dropped my stone and chipped the bottom. In order to fix the problem, she quickly talked to the cutter of the stone and got another five or so amethysts cut in order to find one that worked well. She really went above and beyond to try to make sure that the project could still be salvaged. This was my first jewelry project and the first time something like this has happened to me, and I think that Julia showed me the way a true professional handles a tough situation.

We couldn''t get a replacement stone that was the same color as the original, so Julia said she would make the original stone into a necklace and then use the new, darker stone in the ring. It was a great compromise, and she was very persistent in finding me a stone that was of good enough color and quality. I was a little picky about it, but we were able to find a good stone and then Julia got right to work and finished the ring and necklace in less than 2 weeks.