shape
carat
color
clarity

Starting from Scratch

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

indigo

Rough_Rock
I am just beginning to research diamonds and rings as I expect to be engaged within a few months. I'm rather picky and this might take a while (a girl's gotta be ready, right?).
I want a platinum ring with a diamond between .5 and .8 ct.
I really need general advice on how to go about this. Should I find the diamond that I want online and then take it to a local jeweler?
I think that I will look for a G/H in the VS range. I really like the ideal cut diamonds and should be able to afford one since I'm not wanting a large stone. I feel like I should get the best stone that I can afford, but which Cs are the most important? Is it better to skimp on color or clarity?I haven't found any rings that I like locally so should I have one "made" or find that online also? I like old engraved rings rather than the more modern look.
Can you recommend a few sites for purchasing diamonds and especially rings?ALSO, I hate tiffany settings. I like bevel settings. It seems like that would prevent a lot of light from getting in though. What are your thoughts?

pricescope

Ideal_Rock