shape
carat
color
clarity

setting advice and ideas (please help!)

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

antonio

Rough_Rock
I am a newbie looking for a setting for a 1.3-1.5 c princess cut diamond. I found a Simon G band that I liked in local store and was told that they could attach prongs for a center diamond. Are there any potential problems that anyone can see with this idea? Anything I should keep in mind or ask the jeweler before I commit to this idea? And lastly, how do you guys/gals think this will look?

I have been reading through many posts on this forum and it seems there are people with a lot more expierence and knowledge than me. I would greatly appreciate any comments/opinons/advice

0120616_lg.jpg

antonio

Rough_Rock
please...

Colored Gemstone Nut

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Date: 3/8/2005 10
6.gif
5:30 PM
Author:antonio
I am a newbie looking for a setting for a 1.3-1.5 c princess cut diamond. I found a Simon G band that I liked in local store and was told that they could attach prongs for a center diamond. Are there any potential problems that anyone can see with this idea? Anything I should keep in mind or ask the jeweler before I commit to this idea? And lastly, how do you guys/gals think this will look?

I have been reading through many posts on this forum and it seems there are people with a lot more expierence and knowledge than me. I would greatly appreciate any comments/opinons/advice
Hi Antonio:
35.gif

I would seriously consider having the ring custom made to the spec's of the band you showed with whatever style prongs you might fancy.

I know you stated your jeweler can attach prongs, but I think the ring will flow better if you have it built from scratch and the integrity of the ring will be stonger in the sense that the fabrication of the prongs on a custom piece will be part of the originally cast band.