shape
carat
color
clarity

Sapphire owners-how did you source your stone?

Blue-Seeker

Shiny_Rock
Hi, for those of you who own sapphires, how did you decide where to purchase your stone? I see so many options discussed here, such as working with Pala or other wholesalers through a vendor who brings stones in for you, through ebay, through web vendors like Simply Sapphires, and through individual cutters. What are the advantages and disadvantages of these options? And where do you recommend a new colored stone purchaser like me who is paranoid about getting ripped off start?

Thank you!

chloeishere

Shiny_Rock
I'm a noob, but I did finally source a sapphire for my engagement ring, so maybe my two cents will be helpful.

How you source your stone, I think varies on a lot of factors-- for me, budget, and a desire for a non-ideal color were the main difficulties in finding the right stone.

I ended up doing a lot of browsing on various sites, but purchased from a precision cutter who had a piece of rough that he thought would be close to what I am looking for.

The browsing was helpful for figuring out what I like, and what I don't like, and so I can't regret it (even though it took so long to find what I was looking for).

The biggest problems I had were that I was on a very limited budget (I wanted to spend absolutely no more than $200 on the stone), and I was looking for a round cut, light blue-green or blue-lavender sapphire-- colors that are not very commercially available because they are non-ideal (I thought of it as looking for the stones that would be heated or treated to darken the color).
Generally, prices are a bit lower buying direct from the cutter-- no middle-man, after all. I spent a lot of time looking on ebay, but a good cut is very important to me, so I didn't go for any ebay stones.