shape
carat
color
clarity

Rude or Typical?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Julian

Brilliant_Rock
So I'm new to this very addictive & informative site -- and I have a question:

People will randomly come up to me and grab my hand. Some of those "admirers" are complete strangers.

I'm a friendly person so it doesn't bother me except -- almost ALL of the admirers bring my hand CLOSE to their faces and inspect my diamond.

Then they all turn it to the side to peer through it!
6.gif

I'll admit, my ring is stunning. But what are they looking for? Inclusions? They won't find any without a powerful lens and it's colorless -- so why do they do this? Do they think it's fake????

Even people I know who come up to congratulate me do this. Does this happen to you, too?

I'd never do that unless invited to -- usually I just congratulate and be happy for the person. I'd never, ever grab their hand and inspect their ring! I'm surprised no one's pulled out a loupe!
wavey.gif

msbennie

Shiny_Rock
Dont' know why people do that but could you post a picture on this site so we can see it too?
saint.gif

ame

Super_Ideal_Rock
Where are the photos?!! Must see photos!!!

Welcome. ITs very addicting and really makes you wanna go out and spend more money.

I can relate to your story. Its really kind of irritating. I carry a loupe in my purse (for my own sanity...or insanity) and there have been occasions where Ive wanted to say "hey youd get a better look at it with this loupe". Usually that does it. Its fun to be congratulated but to have them freaking out and examining it for flaws just drives me fruit.

reena

Ideal_Rock
yeah i agree, that sounds pretty rude.

that being said: CAN you post a picture?
9.gif
now i know what you may be thinking, but it's not the same thing--we just want to admire it and give you compliments!
9.gif

finerthings

Brilliant_Rock