shape
carat
color
clarity

Proposing next month. Please help a newbie with purchase!

rashie81

Rough_Rock
Hi all, I am totally new to this whole diamond fiasco, and planning to propose to my long time girlfriend. I've been lurking around on this forum and learnt that the cut is the most important, following carat, color and clarity. Originally I was looking at E-F stones and within the VS1 - VS2 range in clarity, but most users have since convinced me that there is little to no difference between an E to a G, and a VS1 to an SI1 to the naked eye. So I decided to look around a bit more on a local wholesaler's site. Here are the 2 I narrowed down to. What I don't understand is why the one with more fluorescence costs a bit more. Shouldn't the less there is, the better the diamond? Maybe there are other factors I'm unaware of. Also, do you guys think they are priced reasonably? Please shine some light onto this rookie here. No PUN intended! =)

Specs of the 2 diamonds.

Item number: #1000257
Shape: Round
Carat weight: 1.06ct.
Cut: Ideal
Color: G
Clarity: SI1
Reports: GIA
Depth: 60.5%
Table: 56.0%
Girdle: Medium
Culet: N
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: Medium
1.06 ct. Round Diamond G-SI1 GIA
Price: $5563.08

Item number: #1000256
Carat weight: 1.06ct.
Depth: 60.9%
Table: 60.0%
Fluorescence: None
1.06 ct. Round Diamond G-SI1 GIA
Price: $5557.33

I also forgot to mention. I went to this wholesaler today, and the owner told me that they also sold diamonds certified by EGL. I asked him if it was EGL USA, and he said that it was EGL UK. He also said that both were on the same level of grading, but I'm not too convinced. Should I be trusting him?

rashie81

Rough_Rock
Re: Proposing next month. Please help a newbie with purchase

I also found this one as well. Do you guys think it is worth the extra $500 or so for the slightly bigger size? Would you even be able to tell the difference in person?

Item number: #1000337
Carat weight: 1.09ct.
Depth: 62.1%