shape
carat
color
clarity

Probability and Diamonds

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

roksinmymind

Rough_Rock
Heh...

maybe this is an exercise in neuroticism...

I put a deposit down on a 1.44 carat, 57% table, 62.6% depth diamond. It is 7.14x7.23x4.5 in size with a medium to slightly thick girdle. Although this diamond would be considered a non-branded american ideal cut by a company such as Blue Nile that considers only table and depth %'s, anyone who reads the Holloway's tutorial knows this means diddly squat. I tried to get a sarin report, but it was impossible at the time (its being currently shipped).

Being very uncomfortable with uncertainty (I have a master's degree in statistics), I wanted to see what the probability that this might actually be a good cut. So first, I had to make several assumptions.

1) the medium (1.7-3%) to sl thick girdle (3-4.5%) would equate to approx 3.1% of the diameter. It leaned on the thicker side of the indicated range because the actual size of the diamond is a bit smaller than the weight indicates (it should be 7.34 mm according to Tolkowsky proportions).

2) the "no culet" would be 0.2%

These assumptions allowed me to make a sliding range of the associated crown and pavilion %'s and punch them into the HCA formula.

Interestingly, given these assumptions, if this diamond actually ended up being AGA 1B ideal (with the crown and the pavillion %'s falling into the AGA 1B ranges), the HCA would only give the diamond a rating of 2.0-4.0.

However, if the crown angle was steeper than AGS 1B, then I would get a range of 0.9-2.2 on the HCA (FIC) before falling off the meter (crown too steep).

If the crown angle was less steep than AGS 1B, then I would get a HCA range of 3.7 to 5.1 to 2.5 before falling off the meter (pavilion too deep).