shape
carat
color
clarity

Possible Fake EGL Certificate and Diamond

ASH008

Rough_Rock
Hello Everyone,

I'm very new to all of this, and would greatly appreciate some help. The much shorter version of my problem is that I recently purchased what was reportedly an EGL certified diamond (1.53 carat). If helpful to know, the certificate # is AA 408338. After officially receiving the certificate and trying to look it up on the EGL International site, I realized that there are usually supposed to be 10 digits (as you can see, mine has only 6 digits after the "AA"). So far I have yet to hear from EGL after trying to contact them. I also don't know which lab it may have come from, and if the "AA" in the beginning of the cert # should identify this. If I don't have a valid diamond with specs that are within a certain range of the certificate (I understand that there is certain leniency, but I mean if the specs of my actual diamond vs. what is said on the certificate are WAY off), and/or this isn't an actual valid EGL diamond, then what can I do? I do have everything completely written out on the sales receipt.

Thank you very much in advance to any and all that reply and provide your much appreciated feedback!!

Brian

OECsareforLovers

Shiny_Rock
Can you scan the certificate and post it in the thread?

ASH008

Rough_Rock
Hi, and thank you so much for such a quick reply. I'm not able to scan it, but is there a way to maybe take a picture of it from my phone and then upload it through an attachment or something?

Brian

Rockdiamond

Ideal_Rock
Trade
At this point, the MOST important words on your bill of sale should be "Money Back Guarantee"

If it says "no Refunds" you've most likely got a problem if you want an accurately graded diamond.

ASH008

Rough_Rock
Thanks, and it does say no refunds on the receipt. I think I just figured out how to upload the certificate images:

diamond_certificate.jpg

diamond_certificate_2.jpg

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium