shape
carat
color
clarity

Peerless vs Hearts and Arrows

Wheelo

Rough_Rock
Im still relatively new to this diamond hunting. I was at Jared the other day and the jeweler showed me a 3 stone diamond ring featuring peerless diamonds, 1.5 carat tw round cut for $9999.99. It was beautiful.

My question is:

When I look at a diamond rating online, for example this hearts and arrows diamond:

http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-2561999.htm

how can I compare it to the peerless diamonds i saw? does it have to do with the first 3 ratings? light performance, polish and symmetry?

Thanks

TimMD

Shiny_Rock
Wheelio, hello again. So to answer your question, many different vendors have different name for their "super ideal cut", a cut above for whiteflash, brian gavin signature diamond for Brian Gavin's, hearts and arrows for james allen, and peerless for Jared. When we talk about super ideal, we are talking about in the light performance of the diamond, the white light, color light and scintillation. AGS (of the grading institutions) has the strictest guidelines and most information on their certs in regards to an ideal cut, AGS0 (or sometimes you see it at AGS000--best light performance, symmetry, polish). Having said that, it doesnt have to to be AGS to be super ideal, just has to possess the dimensions/angles that would allow for the optimal optical symmetry (i.e. light performance). We best view that with tools such as ASETS. Whiteflash (along with Brian Gavin whom co founded whiteflash) was amongst the first in the US to market these "super ideal" or hearts and arrows cuts so feel comfortable that their signature diamonds will have optimal light performance because of super ideal cut. They also proceed the ASETs to show such.