shape
carat
color
clarity

Overwhelmed & Confused About Proportions, Scintillation & All This Information

Fashungurl

Rough_Rock
I’m a novice consumer looking to upgrade to a 5 ct LGD Round Brilliant. (Currently own a mined 2.4 ct Radiant) After being overwhelmed by the plethora of info online, I’m more overwhelmed than better informed, unfortunately. :cry2:

The thing I’m most confused about is why one shouldn’t rely on the certification if the stone is graded excellent & the proportions are cut to the ideal standard? Simply put, if it says in black & white the stone is near colorless, near flawless & cut to ideal proportions; shouldn’t the diamond sparkle like crazy? In my research on here & sites like “Beyond4C’s” - I’ve learned you can’t trust the cert & you can’t always trust your eyes either. :confused2: But why wouldn’t the stone perform like it should if it hits all the benchmarks???

Went to a local independently owned jeweler to see actual stones in person. Unfortunately, I got caught up in the moment & put down a deposit on a 5.03 ct LGD round. Here are the specs:
Stone 1)
Lab Carat Weight: 5.03 cts - GIA Certified
Color: E
Clarity: VVS2
Cut: Excellent
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: None
Table: 56%
Crown Angle: 35
Pav Angle: 40.8
Depth: 62
Girdle: Medium-ST (faceted 3.5%)

The next day, I called to request the cert# for Stone 1 so that I could look up the proportions online. The jeweler advised “since he wanted us to be happy”, he “upgraded” us to a slightly larger stone. So of course, my radar starts beeping bc is the ‘ol “bait & switch” tactic? I ask him for pics & the cert# for this different diamond. Below are the specs:
Stone 2)
Lab Carat Weight: 5.14 cts - IGI Certified
Color: E
Clarity: VVS2
Cut: Ideal
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: None
Table: 59%
Crown Angle: 34.2
Pav Angle: 41.3
Depth: 61.7
Girdle: Medium-ST (faceted)