shape
carat
color
clarity

Opinions wanted: what colour of pearls should I buy first?

What colour of Pearl strand should I buy first

• White

Votes: 18 54.5%
  • Gold

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Black

Votes: 7 21.2%
  • Other

Votes: 3 9.1%
  • Multi-colour

Votes: 5 15.2%

• Total voters
Hi all! I am a complete Pearl newb - I love them, but I haven’t ever bought any because I’ve always considered myself too young for pearls (I’m in my late 20s).

My favourites are white and gold (but champagne coloured, not the deep rich colour) south seas and black Tahitians. I am not that fond of Akoya pearls, not sure why but they’ve never appealed to me in the same way. Perhaps it’s because I like big sizes!

The only problem is that IMO white pearls are best suited to someone a bit older than me, I never see anyone except for women in their late 30s at the earliest donning white pearls. I feel like black pearls lean a bit younger and edgier, so I’m leaning towards buying those, but it feels like usually people buy white and gold first because those colours are like “staples”.

Multicoloured strands are also an option, but again, it feels like a single coloured matched strand is more classic than multiple colours on a strand.

Opinions are welcome!! Thank you!

seaurchin

Ideal_Rock
This conversation has come up before, though I'm not sure if it was on this forum. It seemed most of the ladies said they wore their black pearls far more than they did their white ones. That, along with your feeling that white pearls are for older women, is why I picked black. I also wear my black pearls more than my whites, both strands and earrings.

Also, imo gold pearls don't seem to me to go with as many outfits as black pearls do. South Sea golden pearls also tend to cost a lot more than Tahitian pearls of the same quality.

Lavender, pink or peach freshwater pearls can be had for a lot less than the saltwater pearls but, again, imo, don't go with as many outfits.