shape
carat
color
clarity

Online vs. B&M and Insurance Questions

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

heypete

Rough_Rock
Greetings, everyone. This is my first time posting here at pricescope, so please be kind and forgive me if I make some sort of faux pas. :)

I''ve done some perusing of the forums, but wasn''t able to find anything quite along the lines of these questions. If I may have missed something, I''d appreciate a pointer in the right direction.

I have two major questions, which I''ll divide into two parts:

Question #1 - Online vs. Brick & Mortar

I had looking for an engagement ring for my girlfriend, and found an excellent three-stone setting at Whiteflash that is just what she was looking for.

I chose this diamond ("A Cut Above", Ideal cut, polish, and symmetry, 0.437ct, G color, SI1 [eye-clean] clairty)as the center stone and two non-ACA 0.25ct diamonds for the side stones, with both being similar in color, cut, and clarity to the center stone.

I decided to go with Whiteflash after perusing a few local jewelery stores and not being terribly impressed (Zales and Gordon''s were particularly irritating local stores). I ended up purchasing the ring and stones from Whiteflash, and should have them here in about 10 days.

Of course, things never go smoothly: I wanted to see comparable rings at local shops, as well as wanting to see which shops would be suitable for future service on the ring. I visited several different stores, and was quite impressed with Ben Bridge (they had almost the exact same ring, only it was $5,000 rather than $2,400, which is considerably more expensive, even considering that the BB setting was in platinum, and Whiteflash''s in white gold) and Helzberg. The latter had nearly the same ring, only it had 0.14ct sidestones, and cost $2,700.