shape
carat
color
clarity

? on the Cut

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Searching

Rough_Rock
Hi!I'm a newbie and have a question. What's better, the AGS000 Ideal cut, Hearts and Arrows or EightStar?? Thanks!

StevL

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
How about this.I sell all three so I have compared them many times with many different customers. Not one customer ever didn't like the eightstar, many couldn't pay the price, and others thought the premium is to much.On the other hand many liked the fact that Eightstar is leading edge, and not dated back to 1919. Some like the conflict free aspect, and still others like that it is unique in it's look, others like that less than a thousand are cut each year.Here are some interesting quotes by non sellers, but big time gemologist.Questions asked by Betty Lian-Huey at American Gem Society Conclave, New Orleans: April 9, 1999
Dr Ilene Reinitz of the research team of Gemological Institute of America is being asked the questions
Q: What is it that makes one ideal cut diamond so right Ð arrows under the FireScope Ð and another ideal cut with similar proportions not?
R: The FireScope looks at several things. It both looks at the proportion and the exact symmetry of the diamond. If a diamond has one of the common 8 symmetry faults, the table and the girdle are not exactly parallel, or the girdle is not a plane, if it is askew, the FireScope images will be disturbed. And if there is a lack of bonding between crown and pavilion facets, the FireScope will show a distorted image. That is true regardless of the proportion.
Q: So what you are saying is that the FireScope is basically a very important tool for todays diamond cutting industry.
R: Yeah! The FireScope is a very interesting tool because it lets you see aspects of the optical proportion of the diamond. Very similar to our diffused lighting conditions. It lets you see brilliance and less of the other aspects.