shape
carat
color
clarity

Not getting the OEC thing...feeling stupid

tlfiore

Shiny_Rock
Hi everyone~I would really appreciate anyone's input...please.

I'm looking at a number of sources to locate an approximate 7 mm OEC diamond (to create a custom ring) OR to find something original & special that I love and just go with it...

So I located a ring earlier in a precious gorgeous setting that looks pretty good with both my daily wear bands...this Tiffany Legacy and a replica 4 mm 11-diamond platinum band @ 1.55 cts. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this setting but I'm unsure about the stone. I know the photos aren't great but I'd love initial impressions, comments, ANYTHING you can say about the stone...good, bad and/or ugly!

I love the setting...not crazy about the diamond...not sure why. For some reason, even thought it is GIA Graded "Circular Brilliant," it's not doing it for me. Seems like the table is too large or something...but i'm not an expert:

Circular Brilliant
6.95 x 7.08 x 4.35 mm
1.34 ctw (seems larger to me)
Color...K
Clarity...VVS2

Table: 59%
Girdle: thin to medium faceted
Depth: 62%
Culet: medium
Polish...good
Symmetry...good
Fluorescence...none

ANY HELP, please will be so appreciated! Thank you!!

Sorry about the poor photo but it's the best I can do right now...and the ring is pricey :oops2:

IMG_4342 (2).JPG

Last edited:

EvaEvans

Shiny_Rock
Premium
"Circular Brilliant" by GIA means that this is NOT exactly OEC diamond!
Table 59% is too large for OEC!
Depth 62% is too low for OEC!
Faceted girdle could mean two things:
1) This diamond is recently cut to resemble old cut
or
2) This diamond is rehabbed (re-polished)
Either ways, this is not an OEC diamond, but transitional cut diamond.

tlfiore

Shiny_Rock
EvaEvans...thank you for your prompt reply. It doesn't look like an OEC to me but I am not an expert. Now, I've been reading spec charts and all about OEC and it's all a bit confusing to me.