shape
carat
color
clarity

Is my diamond an Old European Cut? (Insurance question)

rubybeth

Ideal_Rock
Is my diamond an Old European Cut? And will this matter for insurance reasons?

I ask because I had an appraisal done locally, and was not happy with the results (description very brief and valuation way too high). Normally, I've had really good experiences with appraisals at this place, so when I got back this very brief "18k gold solitaire with 1.43 M VS1 round brilliant" description on a piece of letterhead with a value 2.5 times what I paid, I e-mailed to complain and show a comparison to other appraisals done by the same place. They made the appraisal more detailed and are willing to value it lower, but are saying this isn't an OEC. They wrote, "it is actually a modern round brilliant diamond with 58 facets and a large culet." I am no expert on OECs, but to me, this looks very flowery and the faceting is very different from a typical round brilliant, but I am not sure. Ultimately, will this matter very much when it comes to insurance? My main concern is that, if something happens to this stone, Jeweler's Mutual will replace with a very good cut round brilliant. Anyone have experience with JM and OECs? Can you work with whichever old cut vendor you like?

Link to GIA report on the stone, photo below: http://www.gia.edu/cs/Satellite?pagename=GST%2FDispatcher&childpagename=GIA%2FPage%2FReportCheck&c=Page&cid=1355954554547&reportno=2161045016

rubybeth_diamond.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
GIA's standards to label a diamond OEC is very stringent. To me, it should pass as an OEC, or at the very least, a transitional stone. If your appraisal calls it a modern round brilliant, expect the insurance company to find you a true MRB should you need a replacement stone, which is the last thing you want!

missy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium