shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie here - Fair Price on Estate Pear Diamond?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

starryeyed

Ideal_Rock
Hello Everyone!

I am new to the Pricescope forum. I have learned a ton from Pricescope "Knowledge" and would imagine the forum will be top-notch also!

My question is about a 2.75-carat estate pear diamond - I''m wondering what is a fair offer price. The diamond is set in a platinum ring with small baguette sidestones. The jeweler has this ring on consignment. He claims the stone is G/H color and VS clarity. The brilliance of the stone is very nice, but the shape is a bit elongated. He didn''t know the age, but it is less than 50 years. He is asking $19K. This seems like a lot, but I''m not sure of what to offer.

I have read Richard Sherwood''s thread from 2004 entitled "Reselling Gems..." in the FAQ section to try to get an idea of pricing. However, all of the different selling scenarios report price expectations relative to "wholesale". Unfortunately, I am a consumer and don''t have a feel for what "wholesale" is.

I would appreciate help with this. Thanks!

canuk-gal

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
HI:

Welcome. Aside from the "claims" of the jeweller, is there a recent appraisal or lab papers that might indicate the characteristics of the stone and any "wear and tear" you should be aware of? Can you make the terms of sale contingent on your own independant appraisal?

cheers--Sharon

starryeyed

Ideal_Rock
There are no certs or appraisals with this ring. We looked at the stone under the jeweler's 30x microscope and I didn't see any glaring inclusions. I'm a somewhat educated consumer, but I probably couldn't tell the difference between a VS and a super-clean SI-1. The color might be G/H or H/I - I couldn't tell that either. It's definitely at least in the near colorless range, because I compared it to my G studs and it looked comparable.