shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie advice - what questions should I ask about this dmnd?

opisanoob

Rough_Rock
Hi there,

We found this stone and think that it offers pretty good value: http://www.b2cjewels.com/dd-8011460-3.01-carat-Cushion-diamond-G-color-SI1-clarity.aspx

The one concern is the medium blue fluorescence.

Are there specific questions that we should ask before making the purchase and having it set into a platinum setting?

I'd love to be able to give back to the forum somehow in return for your help, but unfortunately I am a complete newbie as far as diamonds are concerned and, despite having lurked here for the better part of three months, am still finding myself in way too deep to make a decision and stick to it!!

Thanks so much!

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Re: Newbie advice - what questions should I ask about this d

Hi opisanoob,
Unfortunately you can not buy fancy cut shapes by the numbers. You need up close images. This cushion seems to be
priced pretty low for a 3 carat G/SI so chances are there is something not quite right with it. :(

You can start by asking for up close pictures.
Ask about the inclusions and whether it is eye-clean or whether the inclusions can be hidden by a prong.
Ask for an Aset image to check on light return.

Post all the pictures/images you get and let PSers take a look for you.

*Actually I just found a picture of the stone at another site...you might try looking at some other vendor sites. I dont want to post it
(unless you want me to) because I dont want it to get stolen if you are interested in it. If you are, I would put it on hold so you can
think about it.

The inclusion (feather) doesnt look too bad...for a 3 carat SI1, however, the light return doesnt look that great (at all).
tyty

Edit ...so now that I have seen a picture of it you need to ask about whether it is eye-clean and get an aset image.

opisanoob

Rough_Rock

Thanks tyty