shape
carat
color
clarity

Newb here: Can you Identify this setting?

tunedin34

Rough_Rock
Hi guys -

My name is Steve and I live in Miami Fl, I am a newbie around here so go easy on me!

I am getting married in 3 weeks and I finally found a setting for my Fiances solitaire diamond ring that we want to upgrade to. The local jeweler is asking $4500 for this setting in platinum. It has 8 side diamonds at .70wt.

We like the "u" design and the lack of metal under the solitaire. There is a space where you can see through the ring under the diamond as well.

We are on a budget so I thought maybe someone here might have some tips or tricks to locating or getting this setting designed for a fair amount. Im not to picky with the side stone quality.

Is this design available as stock at other jewelers that you guys may know of?

I submitted a custom design quote from Brian Gavin just to see what that looks like but it may be costly.

What do you guys think?

Keep in mind the Jeweler placed a loose stone in the setting which is why it looks a bit funny in the images.

setting_4.jpg

setting_5.jpg

setting_2.jpg

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Mark Morrell makes a very fine quality ring with a similar shank but the head is different. Of course when you have something custom made, you can change whatever you want. I do think that ring is over priced. I'll look for others but you are not likely to get this done before the wedding, I assume you realize that. Also, she would have to wear a spacer ring between this style ring and the diamond wedding band because they would destroy each other with diamond edges hitting diamond edges.

http://www.mwmjewelry.com/D_J_2-653ct_wed_set/

bigdiamondtinygal

Shiny_Rock
For some reason, I think that looks similar to a hearts on fire setting or perhaps a memoire setting that I've seen around here before.

Here is a similar hearts on fire setting: