shape
carat
color
clarity

New to PS -- aged in gems

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Roger Dery

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Hello Gemaholics!
I am new to Pricescope, but have been lurking a bit to see if there are areas where I can contribute. Hopefully what I have to share is of some value.

Began in the gem trade in 1981, and due to some unusual circumstances, took up faceting in 2001. Even though gems are how I make my living, they are also where my passion is. Of course, if one is passionate about gemstones, one is also passionate about finding them! And there lies my other interest, going to unusual places around the world to locate them -- in the rough. In the last ten years I have made 7 trips to Africa, and the search continues as next month I will be traveling there again with two cohorts, Peter Torraca and Gene Flanigan - which I believe some of you may know.

I have also traveled to visit mining and gem markets in India, Sri Lanka, South America, SE Asia and Madagascar, but currently Tanzania is the next location. I am very certain that the three of us will bring back some very nice goodies! (Yeah, I know, you all will want to see pictures....
9.gif
)

So here''s a pic of one of my recent favorites. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Lg-Morganite32_77ct_Asscher.jpg

MakingTheGrade

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Welcome!

We are always glad to welcome passionate and knowledgeable professionals to the boards! I''m sure I''m not the only one who anxiously awaits the goodies you and your cohorts will be bringing back after your next trip!

That is a stunning morganite! I''m assuming you faceted that yourself?

Lovinggems

Ideal_Rock
Hi Roger, I'm looking forward to reading about your gem experiences.
35.gif

The morganite is very elegant and beautiful, it'll look great as a centrepiece for a necklace.
30.gif

Roger Dery

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Date: 5/23/2009 8:58:23 AM
Author: MakingTheGrade
Welcome!