shape
carat
color
clarity

My Family/Generational Ring is here!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

CDNTech

Rough_Rock
I've been wearing a daughter's pride ring since I was 9 years old (haven't taken it off in 21 years tomorrow!), but I've been wanting to upgrade to a family ring to include dh and our boys in my ring... I didn't want to get rid of my parents stones though since they've been with me so long. I was looking at doing all six of the stones flush mount and scattered in a band and then did a little more thinking. I know as I add to my family over the years, I'll want to add more stones... so we decided to represent all the birth months in an eternity band as a family/generational band. That way no matter who we add to the family, they will be represented on the ring. If I include my immediate family (dh & the boys) and my immediate family growing up, then we have 11 of the 12 months covered already anyway. There was only room for 10 gemstones on the ring (the diamonds are April), so technically I'm missing one month... but June can traditionally be an Emerald, so June and May are sharing... because it works for me.
2.gif
9.gif

My ring came in tonight... we designed it back in November. It's gorgeous and I love it!
36.gif

Alternating rounds and squares eternity band in 19kt white gold... thanks to Geckodani who posted the link/photo of the cast. The rounds are all 3pt brilliant cut diamonds. The squares are all 5pt step cut gemstones... I just told them carre/asscher/baguette, as long as it was a step cut. They weren't sure if they could do step cuts, so I also said a princess would be fine, but these look like step cuts to me.
18.gif
The Gemstones are (in order) Red Garnet, Orange Sapphire, Peridot, Pink Sapphire, Amethyst, Blue Topaz, Ruby, Aquamarine, Emerald, and a Blue Sapphire.