shape
carat
color
clarity

Is this a good sapphire?

AppleGem

Rough_Rock
Hello,

My boyfriend purchased a sapphire without a lab report. Could anyone please give me their opinion? I have no idea how good it is or how much it would go for.

DESCRIPTION: oval sapphire wich is si.v-Blue (T 56 / S 56.) Type II: VS clarity and weghs aprox 3.38 carats.

Many thanks,

innerkitten

Ideal_Rock
I don't know anything about those numbers but maybe someone here will. Can you post some photos?

slksapphire

Shiny_Rock
welcome to colored stones, applegem.

i am a relative newbie, but here are some thoughts/questions:

1. can you still return the sapphire?
2. can you post a photo? while it's really hard to assess a stone through photos alone, without a photo i'd say it's impossible (for a colored stone).
3. is it heated or unheated?
4. are there any other treatments?
5. who was the seller?
6. how much did it cost/what's your budget?
7. if there was no certificate, what is the source of the color / saturation numbers?

if you can provide more information, i'm sure some of the more experienced folks can help.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
AppleGem|1335150594|3178171 said:
Hello,

My boyfriend purchased a sapphire without a lab report. Could anyone please give me their opinion? I have no idea how good it is or how much it would go for.

DESCRIPTION: oval sapphire wich is si.v-Blue (T 56 / S 56.) Type II: VS clarity and weghs aprox 3.38 carats.

Many thanks,

Without a photo and some decent criteria explaining the true clarity and saturation on this gem, as well as a reputable lab report indicating all possible treatment, it's impossible to assess the value. We don't even know who you bought it from as the dealer might be less than reputable. I also do not know what the numbers above mean, but if those numbers are meant to grade saturation and tone, and they were graded in-house, you should know that it's best to get an independent lab report instead.