shape
carat
color
clarity

Ideal or not? help plz

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Vietcu

Rough_Rock
I am in a search for a good diamond. Have been checking some diamonds at stores and see that an Ideal cut diamond has the best glimmer. I am curious with a budget of around $4000, can I go with a not so Ideal diamond and still get a good bang for the buck with a Very Good cut diamond. Also clarity and color what is the lowest I can go with and not see anything with the naked eye. I am putting this diamond on an 18k gold ring so I dont think I need to go with colorless or anything like that. Advice from experience people out there is greatly appreciated. Thanks
1.gif

69gm

Shiny_Rock
hi vietcu,

i'm no expert but here's my $.02 as i've recently done some research:

the most important thing you need to look at is the cut of the stone. this means finding a diamond with good table, depth, crown angles, and pavilion angles. these all need to work in harmony to produce a nice stone. an AGS-000 or GIA-EX/EX tend to be nice stones.

that being said, i have heard that there are actually some nice diamonds out there that may not be considered ideal, but still look very nice. the experts can help you with these.

after cut i would choose color. the lowest i decided to go with was "I". i thought anything lower might be too yellow. however, i have heard of very nice "J" and even "K" stones because the cut was superideal.

as far as clarity, anything from about SI1 and up will usually be eye-clean. of course your mileage will vary but in general, this is true. it's probably overkill to go VVS2 and higher unless it really bothers you to have any sort of flaw. but keep in mind this will mostly be in your head. it won't be visible to the naked eye. even with magnification, it will be hard to find the flaws. VS1-SI1 should be your search criteria.