shape
carat
color
clarity

How much does this 12ct natural emerald really worth minimally?

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
Hi guys, I am looking at this beautiful colored large over 12ct natural emerald. I am very new to gemstone, I'd love it if people with trained eyes can help me to understand a reasonable price I should pay for it that will allow it to at least hold the value over time- I want to buy it for the minimal amount i can re-sell it for as a private individual, not a professional. This stone is 12mmx18 and oiled with no other treatment. No more info is given other than that this comes from a reputable store. What do you think? Is this a rare piece at this opacity at this size? See the video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1EOzyDfrD0JfbmlDvjEC0fbwx_Skrk6_-/view?usp=share_link Screenshot 2024-01-04 at 7.53.14 PM.png

Last edited:

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
Any professional comments are welcome!

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Another very bad choice. It's not going to resell for much, if at all

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
Another very bad choice. It's not going to resell for much, if at all

any particular thing that makes it bad that i should look out for?

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Example of a quality emerald:

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
Very dark, very included, not well cut, not from a source of good emeralds (if it's from JA), no "glow" that people look for in emeralds

thank you so much. very insightful! where would be an online source you would actually go to? if not JA?

kakadttt

Rough_Rock
Example of a quality emerald:

would this be a good one with good price? https://www.jamesallen.com/gemstones/green-emerald/2.26-carat-oval-sku-78106

pokerface

Brilliant_Rock