shape
carat
color
clarity

Help a guy make an important decision (between these two stones)?

jiffy

Rough_Rock
Hi!

I'm about to purchase a stone for a custom engagement ring (will post photos afterwards!) and I'm having trouble determining which sapphire to get.

I've done my best learning what I can from the forums/reading for what to look for but ultimately I'm an amateur and I don't trust my eyes. (But I do trust the internet! :lol:)

The biggest difference to me is that Gem B has a more obvious zoning whereas Gem A's zoning is less noticeable as its blends and is centered more. Both are eye clean and similar in price/size.

I was hoping you all could help me make this important decision. Thanks in advance! Pictures below.

Gem A
A-1.jpg A-2.jpg

Gem B
B-1.jpg B-2.jpg

Both side by side:
B-A.jpg

Last edited:

marymm

Ideal_Rock
Premium
They are both beautiful stones, but I have a slight preference for Gem A particularly for an engagement ring.

Will the stone be set with prongs, or in a bezel ... do you know?

Obscura

Shiny_Rock
I too like A, but then I don't like yellow in parti sapphires. Are you wanting a blue, green or teal?

jiffy

Rough_Rock
They are both beautiful stones, but I have a slight preference for Gem A particularly for an engagement ring.

Will the stone be set with prongs, or in a bezel ... do you know?

Thank you! Phew, I'm glad I'm on the right track. It'll be in a bezel. Specifically surrounded by a diamond halo.

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hard choice since both are unique and very pretty! I am personally drawn more to stone B, but I don't think you can go wrong here.

jiffy

Rough_Rock
I too like A, but then I don't like yellow in parti sapphires. Are you wanting a blue, green or teal?

Ah two for A! I appreciate the opinion! I think I'm leaning more teal or blue.

jiffy

Rough_Rock
Hard choice since both are unique and very pretty! I am personally drawn more to stone B, but I don't think you can go wrong here.