shape
carat
color
clarity

Heart Buying Advice

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

2ndTimeAround

Rough_Rock
I am a complete newbie to this forum, just found it after a big trawl of internet sites looking at various dealers, and will just try to jump straight in and ask a question, and hope that at least 1 or 2 people are feeling helpful enough to answer.

I am about to get engaged for the 2nd time (after my first marriage ended). It is very important for me to ensure that any ring (and particularly stone) is very different (and most importantly better) than the first one, this was:-

Brilliant cut
1.09 ct
H colour
SI

and was non certified.

I am mow looking for a 1.1ct to 1.3ct Heart Shape (to be completely different), which I would like to be :-

At least G colour
VS1 or better
and certified

I gathered a bit of knowledge about diamond purchasing with my ex (who was not known for her low maintenance characteristics)and since I live in the UK where EVERYTHING seems more expensive than it should be, had concluded that Dubai (where I have bought things in the past at fair prices) was the way to go. After reading a few posts here I am not too sure whether I would not be better off coming to the US. I figure from the online sites I have checked with that what I am looking for would be somewhere between $4-$6k via some of the online dealers (correct me if I am way off the mark here).

I am particularly interested in purchasing a complete ring package (i.e. stone plus platinum tiffany setting), but it seems that many of the online US dealers will not accept credit cards originating outside the US. Since UK card issuers are equally laible with a retailer in the event of a dispute (for instance a stone not being as described) it is very important for me to use my credit card (would also like the airmiles that using my amex would bring).