shape
carat
color
clarity

Gabrielle Cut?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

lil_jay78

Shiny_Rock
Hi guys...long time no see...

I''ve been on hiatus as work has been crazy lately and I''ve been working on my proposal plans for my gf.

Anyway, I was strolling around westwood last week and walked into Sarah Leonard, where they had several Gabrielle Cuts on display. Of course I had to display my PS knowledge and began asking about the diamond. This is the first time I''ve actually seen a Gabrielle Cut, and the saleslady informed me they are an exclusive dealer for Gabby cuts.

I also found out that these stones currently do not have any GIA or AGS certs, which makes sense to me, considering they are pretty new(right?). Anyway, the sales lady was very impressed w/ the type of questions I was asking and asked if I was a jeweler, and I said, i was just a "fan" of diamonds.

Anyway, the Gabrielle Cut really looks like a nice diamond, but there is little to no information about them so far...so any 411 you guys can give would be awesome. I''d like to see what you guys think.

btw - I''m about to post pics of my ring on SMTR... :)

JulieN

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Jay, looks like I'll have to go down there and see!

Just because a cut is new doesn't mean that GIA or AGS can't grade it, methinks.

wait, what are they?? round? cushion-ish? step cut?

diagem

Ideal_Rock
Trade
The Gabrielle cut is a cut designed by Master Cutter Gabi Tolkowsky, it comes in rounds and different assortment of fancy shapes...
I am surprised they dont come with any report.

lizz

Brilliant_Rock
I know that Gabi Tolkowsky is the descendent of the "inventor" of the round brilliant diamond cut (Marcel Tolkowsky), that is so popular today.

This pic is from the Robbins Bros. website. This is what they say about this cut: