shape
carat
color
clarity

Freshadama or Akoya?

jlx

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone!

I am new to pearls, but would like to get my fiancee a pair of earrings. We recently got engaged, but her birthday is coming up in a few weeks, so price is a huge selling point!

What does everyone think about the freshadama line compared to the akoya? This would be her first set of pearls, so I think it would be a nice start to get her plain white stud earrings for daily wear.

I wish I could compare them side-by-side! Could anyone also provide some sort of link so I can compare sizes? 10 mm I know for sure would be too big, but everything else is just up in the air for me.

Thanks in advance!

7.5-8.0 mm White Akoya Pearl Stud Earrings - $150

OR

8.5-9.0 mm White Freshadama Freshwater Pearl Stud Earrings - $94

Since it is her first pair, I suggest the freshadamas in a slightly smaller size 7.5-8mm. It's a very classic size. This way, if she ends up really liking pearls, you can always get her a $$ pair in a bigger size if that's what she wants.

It's just that pearl size, for earrings is really up to the person that is wearing them and what they are comfortable with.

THESE are $64 (pearl paradise), but a matching pendant necklace would be awesome!!)

jlx

Rough_Rock
swedish bean, thanks for your reply!

she actually wears imitation pearl earrings at the moment, which resemble 10 mm, but we both would like something a bit smaller for her.

i think i will go with the freshadama ones for now, since it will be her first pair, and move up to akoyas later on... heh.

elle_chris

Ideal_Rock
I think that freshadama are much better than middle of the line akoyas. This is from pics I''ve seen.

BUT, Hanadama (the finest akoya), blow freshadama away in terms of luster and orient. But this is only my opinion based on real life pics I''ve seen as I don''t own either. I wish I could link you the pics from the other forum but I don''t think we''re allowed to here
7.gif