shape
carat
color
clarity

Faceted girdle

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

RevolutionGems

Shiny_Rock
I am curious about how my fellow PSers feel about faceted girdles vs. smooth girdles.

I personally prefer the faceted variety. I think it gives the stone a more finished look.

Arkteia

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 2/9/2010 12:09:54 PM
Author:Revolution
I am curious about how my fellow PSers feel about faceted girdles vs. smooth girdles.

I personally prefer the faceted variety. I think it gives the stone a more finished look.
I am just reading about diamonds. I do not mind faceted girdle as long as it is thick enough so that the end won''t chip off. Ergo, it probably works best with harder stones and just one cleavage plane. JMO - I am a rookie so I try to put anything I learn to use.

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock
i expect a faceted girdle in high end stones......don''t know why, but i do.

mz

Kim Bruun

Shiny_Rock
I would think that a smooth girdle is better protected against chipping, and so normally, it would be my preference.

A facetted girdle does give a more "expensive" look, though.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I have both faceted and smooth girdled stones. I expect my precision cut stones to have faceted girdles.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 2/9/2010 1:25:39 PM
Author: Chrono
I have both faceted and smooth girdled stones. I expect my precision cut stones to have faceted girdles.
Ditto and I care more about this in diamonds than colored stones in all honesty.

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Interesting question! It doesn''t bother me either way in all honesty. I haven''t yet seen a girdle that''s put me off buying a stone so I''m clearly not "girdle fussy"!!!

PrecisionGem

Ideal_Rock
Trade