shape
carat
color
clarity

Eyeing a preloved ring -- advice?

newtojewels

Shiny_Rock
Hello, and thank you in advance for any advice!

I am wrapping up my PhD and would like to get something special to commemorate it. I am also a total beginner who has never spent more than a few hundred dollars on a piece of jewelry. My only CS pieces are a pair of raw emerald dangly earrings that I bought after passing my qualifying exams and certainly overpaid for (but I do still love them!) and small opal cartilage earrings. I am eyeing this ring and would like a sanity check. It has been on consignment for a long time and I have been admiring it for almost as long. I had a Zoom appointment with Grace who says she feels like it hasn't sold because the ring style is polarizing, but I think I like it! Although it is on consignment, it has apparently never really been owned or worn -- it was apparently a gift that fell through (maybe the polarizing style?). One issue that still needs to be resolved is that the owner believed the main stones were tourmalines but the David Atlas appraisal says spinels, so she is sending it back to DA to confirm.