shape
carat
color
clarity

David Yurman inspired design - help please!

davnads

Rough_Rock
My girlfriend is inspired by the design (and name) of a David Yurman engagement ring. Specifically the "DY Capri". See picture.

capture_19.jpg

I stopped by one of David Yurman stores and they were selling one similar to pictured with 1.2 carats halo, I color, and vs2 clarity (don't have other specs). Total price for the ring was apx $15K (not including tax).

I am very new to learning about diamonds, rings, etc but my first impression was this seems like a high premium to pay for such a small diamond. Thus wanted to explore building this same ring custom. Few questions:

-Where can I find the exact same roped metal band/setting (platinum)? If I can't buy it exactly Any tips or pointers would be much appreciated if I need someone to due it custom. I live in Chicago.

-What do you think a good diamond be for this type of setting? I wanted bigger then 1.4 carats and REALLY sparkly in the sunlight. I was looking at this one - http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-details/LD05021970?track=Detlink1

Thanks again for the help.

dawnxcui

Shiny_Rock
lets deal with one issue at a time.
what's your overall budget?

Diamond
what size diamond are you looking to get?
what are your color/clarity requirements?

can't tell you how sparkly that diamond you picked out will be as it doesn't have the angles.
Read up on HCA tool and use that to filter out bad stones. Anything that scores over a 2 should be avoided
https://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca

and read up on idealscope images.

Setting
that setting doesn't look to difficult to reproduce, you can have it custom made at many places.
read this thread: https://www.pricescope.com/communit...rience-in-making-a-harry-winston-halo.183473/
you can skip directly to Step 3 and Step 4 since you're not buying a cushion diamond and you'll find many setting vendors you can contact for a quote.

enbcfsobe

Brilliant_Rock

enbcfsobe

Brilliant_Rock